Syeyutsus Reconciliation Policy & Framework

Our Goal of Reconciliation 

To support the Board of Education’s goal of Reconciliation, a Reconciliation Advisory Committee (Syeyutsus Family) was formed with the purpose to develop a Reconciliation Policy and Framework for reconciliation across the district, using a process that is culturally relevant, sensitive and significant.

The Syeyutsus Family includes representation from:

  • Ron Poitra, Mid-Island Metis Nation
  • Grace Nielsen, Tillicum Lelum Friendship Centre
  • Joan Brown, Snuneymuxw First Nation
  • Lawrence Mitchell, Snaw-Naw-As First Nation
  • George Seymour, Stz’uminus First Nation
  • Charlene McKay and Leana Pellegrin, Trustees
  • Jamie Smith, Executive, CUPE
  • Denise Wood, President, NDTA
  • Ricki Bartlett, Director of Instruction, Indigenous Learning
  • Scott Saywell, Superintendent
  • Stephanie Johnson, Syeyutsus Saays’um (one that does the work to support walking together)

Syeyutsus Reconciliation Policy (adopted January 30, 2019)

Please note, this video has been adapted to honour and respect Coast Salish Traditions. In Coast Salish traditions, there is a 4-year period where no pictures, or mention of a loved one who has passed away. Once the 4 years have past, there is a huge pot latch, celebration where pictures will be shared. (11/19/2020)
The Reconciliation Policy | Syeyutsus “Walking Together”
Read it or Watch it below

Defining the Syeyutsus Policy

The Syeyutsus Family shares their thoughts:

Harvey Seymour – Stz’uminus First Nation (12/15/2018)
Jamie Smith – CUPE (12/10/2018)
Denise Wood – NDTA (12/10/2018)
Leana Pellegrin – DPAC (12/10/2018)
George Seymour – Stz’uminus First Nation (02/13/2023)
Jerry Brown – Snuneymuxw First Nation (02/13/2023)
Lawrence Mitchell – Snaw naw as First Nation (02/13/2023)

Mandy Jones – Snuneymuxw First Nation (02/13/2023)